Governing Board

A Governing Board of up to 15 volunteers provides stewardship for The Dayton Foundation and its charitable activities.

These experienced civic leaders are appointed to five-year terms by the senior judge of the U.S. District Court for Southwest Ohio, the probate judge of Montgomery County, the mayor of the City of Dayton, the chief executive officers of the Foundation’s trustee financial institutions (two appointments) and fellow members of the Governing Board (up to 10 appointments).

The Governing Board also serves as the Board of Trustees for the following related organizations: The Dayton Foundation, Inc., Dayton Foundation Charitable Accounts, Inc., Dayton Foundation Depository, Inc., Dayton Foundation Realty, LLC, and The Greater Dayton Pooled Income Fund (which invests gifts and pays income for life to donors and their beneficiaries).

The Governing Board also appoints at least one representative to the boards of each supporting organization of The Dayton Foundation.

Governing Board (As of January 1, 2016)

J. Norman Eckstein, senior vice president, Brower Insurance, a Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC Company, chair
Craig Brown
Craig J. Brown, retired senior vice president, treasurer and CFO, The Standard Register Company, vice chair
Marva Cosby
Marva Cosby,CPC, SPHR, president, Cosby Consulting Group, LLC
William L. Gillispie
William L. Gillispie, retired deputy city manager, City of Dayton
Lisa Hanauer
Lisa E. Hanauer, founder and vice president, Sales, MED-PASS, Inc./Heaton Resources
Ellen Ireland
Ellen S. Ireland, community leader
Maureen A. Lynch
Maureen A. Lynch, community leader
David T. Miller
David T. Miller, retired vice president of Finance and CFO, Dayton Children’s
Anita J. Moore
Anita J. Moore, retired vice president, Human Resources, The Berry Company/AT&T
Richard J. Omlor
Richard J. Omlor, former president and CEO, YSI Incorporated
Ratna Palakodeti
Ratna K. Palakodeti, M.D., FAAFP, family physician, First Care Family Medical, and medical director, First Care AfterHours
James R. Pancoast
James R. Pancoast, president and CEO, Premier Health
Colleen M. Ryan
Colleen M. Ryan, president, Vectren Energy Delivery of Ohio, and retired 88th Air Base Wing and Installation Commander, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base
Charles G. Schroeder
Charles G. Schroeder, president and owner, Dayton Wire Wheel

^ top of page

Audit Committee

David T. Miller, chair; Craig J. Brown, Thomas C. DeRoss, Karl Frydryk, Ellen S. Ireland, Rick Omlor, Samuel Oyebanjo, James M. Vaughn

Development Committee

Lisa E. Hanauer, chair; Scott Behnken, Belinda Burns, Allyson Danis, J. Norman Eckstein, Calvin Heard, Ellen S. Ireland, Stanley Katz, Brady Kress, Regis Lekan, Albert W. Leland, Michelle Lovely, John Lumpkin, Robin McCall, Jr., Jacqueline E. Nawroth, Shaun P. Nicholson, Tom Nikolai, Nancy Roberson, Vincent Russell, Charles Schroeder, Jeffrey Winwood

Executive Committee

J. Norman Eckstein, chair; Craig J. Brown, Lisa E. Hanauer, Ellen S. Ireland, David T. Miller, Anita J. Moore, James R. Pancoast, Colleen M. Ryan

Finance Committee

James R. Pancoast, chair; Kenneth C. Boyer, Craig J. Brown, Ellen S. Ireland, Robert C. James, William T. Lincoln, David T. Miller, Richard J. Omlor, Ratna K. Palakodeti, James M. Vaughn

Gift Acceptance Committee

J. Norman Eckstein, James R. Pancoast, Lisa E. Hanauer

Grants Committee

Colleen M. Ryan, chair; Craig J. Brown, William L. Gillispie, Charles A. Jones, Gary L. LeRoy, Maureen A. Lynch, Judy D. McCormick, Beth Schaeffer, Frank Scott, Jerome F. Tatar

Marketing/Public Relations Committee

Anita J. Moore, chair; John F. Bieber, Marva Cosby, Erica Fields, Helen E. Jones-Kelley, Charles A. Jones, Gary L. LeRoy, Judy D. McCormick, Scott Murphy, Walter J. Ohlmann, Paula Saunders, Jamie Schade, Betsy B. Whitney, Frank J. Winslow, Laura Woeste

Technology Advisory Committee

Rick Omlor, chair; Mark Boyed, Mike Harmer, Paul Moorman, Chris Schrameck, Paul Stoddard

Past Governing Board Members

Charles F. Kettering 1921-25
D. Frank Garland 1921-28
William D. Chamberlin 1921-36
Francis J. McCormick 1921-38
Milton Stern 1921-43
John G. Lowe 1925-27
Donald A. Kohr 1927-58
Ezra M. Kuhns 1928-60
Harry B. Canby 1936-56
H. Beckman Ohmer 1939-41
Charles J. Brennan 1942-62
Jack R. Silverman 1945-46
Samuel L. Finn 1946-58
Edward L. Kohnle 1957-73
Milton H. Wagner 1958-71
David L. Rike 1961-78
William Kuntz 1962-73
Robert A. Stein 1972-73
John E. Moore, Sr. 1972-91
Louis S. Goldman 1973-82
Robert S. Oelman 1974-80
Charles W. Danis 1974-84
Frederick C. Smith 1979-89
Anne S. Greene 1980-90
Jesse Philips 1983-92
Richard F. Glennon, Sr. 1984-98
Lloyd E. Lewis, Jr. 1988-94
Burnell R. Roberts 1989-2000
Thomas J. Danis 1990-99
Charles Abramovitz 1990-01
John W. Berry, Sr. 1991-97
Charles S. Brown 1992-01
Douglas L. Hawthorne 1993-02
Robert S. Neff 1993-02
Caryl D. Philips 1993-02
Betsy B. Whitney 1993-02
Clayton L. Mathile 1994-96
Rajesh K. Soin 1994-01
Estus Smith 1994-02
Paula J. MacIlwaine 1994-04
David R. Holmes 1998-01
Thomas G. Breitenbach 1998-10
John N. Taylor, Jr. 1999-03
Judy D. McCormick 1999-08
Franz J. Hoge 2000-09
Fred C. Setzer, Jr. 2001-10
Laura B. Pannier 2002-06
Charles A. Jones 2002-11
Helen E. Jones-Kelley 2002-14
Fred E. Weber 2002-11
Leo E. Knight, Jr. 2003-07
Jamie King 2003-09
Douglas C. Scholz 2003-12
Richard W. Schwartz 2004-10
Gary L. LeRoy 2004-13
Jerome F. Tatar 2004-15
Vicki D. Pegg 2006-11


^ top of page
File date:05.03.16


J. Norman Eckstein

“It’s an honor to be a part of The Dayton Foundation family - its donors, the Board, staff and volunteers. The great service they provide to the people of Greater Dayton is second to none. Few organizations can say they’ve been as committed to the community for more than 94 years like The Dayton Foundation or will continue to do so for generations to come.” – J. Norman Eckstein, Governing Board chair and Foundation donor

  • foundation
  • foundation
  • foundation
  • foundation